Nestled within the historic Algiers Point neighborhood, Cita Dennis Hubbell Library is almost always buzzing with activity and is widely considered one of the defining features of the community.
The quaint, one-room building sits on Pelican Avenue and is the New Orleans Public Library’s oldest operating location. Originally called the Algiers Branch, it was one of five public libraries in the city established with funds donated by Andrew Carnegie. Of those five, only two remain open today: Hubbell and the Children’s Resource Center Library on Napoleon Avenue.
After first opening its doors on December 28, 1907, the Library quickly stole the heart of its community, including a little girl named Cita who would prove to be instrumental in the Library’s longevity.
In April of 1966, the Algiers Branch was closed due to the building’s deteriorating conditions, including from damages due to Hurricane Betsy. The Library remained shuttered for years and there was talk of abandoning it completely, much to the neighbors’ dismay.
Then, in the early 1970s, Cita Dennis Hubbell and a group of volunteers banded together to campaign for the Library’s renovations and reopening. Their actions proved successful, and on October 14, 1975, the Algiers Point Branch returned to its proper place on Pelican Avenue, quickly becoming a centerpiece of the tight-knit neighborhood once again.
In the decades after, the Hubbell family did not walk away, but rather continued to raise money, campaign, and stand up for the beloved Library. After Mrs. Hubbell’s death in 2001, then-City Councilman Troy Carter proposed renaming the Library in her honor.
In 2002, the building was officially rededicated as City Dennis Hubbell Library, as it is still known today.
Read more about this beloved Library location and the work the Hubbell family continues to put in ensure its impact will live on for generations to come here